About Our CGCOA Awards

The Course of the Year Award honors a member of CGCOA demonstrating excellence in five areas:

2019 Course of the Year – Indian Wells Golf Resort

• Exceptional quality of the course
• Exemplary water stewardship practices
• Exceptional quality of ownership and management
• Outstanding contribution to the community
• Significant contributions to the game



Community Environmental Award

2018 Community Environmental Award Recipient, The Ranch at Laguna Beach, Laguna Beach, CA

The Community Environmental Award is presented to a CGCOA facility or management company that demonstrates excellence in the area of Environmental Stewardship.
Award criteria includes:

• Implements practices that reduce use of coveted resources such as water or electricity.
• Has an efficient and convenient recycling program in place for managing waste on course and in the clubhouse (includes bar, restaurant and common areas).
• Encourages on-site natural habitats for birds and other small animals. (i.e. Member of Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary Program)
• Increases citizen awareness on how golf courses are “friends of the environment” and how golfers can support stewardship efforts. (i.e. course nature tours, recycling waste, educational programs)

For the Good of the Game

Jeff Jensen, GCSAA, 2019 For the Good of the Game Award Recipient

The For the Good of the Game Award is presented to an individual/s who has worked tirelessly as an advocate for a program, initiative or cause that will help shape the future of golf in a positive way.
Award criteria includes:
• Individual has volunteered time for a worthy golf-related cause, and always in a highly professional manner.
• Has developed literature or program material that helps communicate the mission, purpose and/or cause in an effective and concise manner.
• Has reached out to others encouraging them to support the cause because it is good and/or imperative to the future of the game.
• This award is considered an “open” award and can be presented to CGCOA members and/or non-members.




Ed Smilow, Golf Course Law, 2018 Ted Horton Distinguished Service Award Recipient

CGCOA Ted Horton Distinguished Service Award

The CGCOA Ted Horton Distinguished Service Award is designed to recognize an individual who has made exemplary contributions to the association and its members. This award is created in the name of Ted Horton, who provided stellar service to the CGCOA for many years, and remains involved today.
Contributions to the association include (but not limited to) the following:
• Overall service to the CGCOA
• Serving on the Board of Directors
• Active committee participation
• Hosting and/or assisting in the planning of events
• Promoter of CGCOA programs and initiatives
• Sponsorship participation and/or encouraging others to lend support

Michael Block, Head Golf Professional, Arroyo Trabuco Golf Club, 2020 Recipient

CGCOA Employee Excellence Award

The CGCOA Employee Excellence Award is designed to recognize an individual who has reflected positively on the golf course operation and the game of golf through the demonstration of exceptional customer service skills, leadership
and teamwork. This award is intended to reinforce the importance of creating an exceptional experience for all customers who enter CGCOA member properties.
Criteria used to evaluate nominees include, but are not limited to:
• Content and quantity of positive reviews by customers, supervisors and coworkers
• Programs or work processes created by or improved upon by nominee that enhance customer experience or improve operations
• Number of people positively affected by nominee’s efforts
• Tenure at golf course property